Staff and Instrumental Tuition

Staff Members

John Bowley, M.A., (Cantab) A.R.C.M
Director of Music

Anne Reece, M.A., (Cantab) L.R.A.M, P.G.C.E
Assistant Director of Music (Instrumental)

Ed Coleman, B Mus, M Mus, A.R.C.O, A,L,C,M
Head of Academic Music, Organist

Justin Myers
Head of Music Technology

Fiona Ross
Department Administrator

Nicki Kennedy
Head of Singing

Hefin Miles  
Strings coordinator

Chris Cooper

Instrumental Staff:

James Boyd Guitar
Simon Durrant Guitar
Keith Hobday Violin/Viola
Hefin Miles Violin
Philip Trzebiatowski ‘cello
Sacha Howard Flute
Chris Knights Clarinet/Saxophone
Emma Penford Oboe/Saxophone/Piano
Nicki Kennedy Singing
Posy Walton Singing
Mary Worrall Singing
Justin Myers Bass guitar
Chris Cooper Jazz piano
Anne Reece Piano
Ed Coleman Organ
Claire Stewart Piano
Graham Hollingworth Percussion
Simon Limbrick Tuned percussion

Individual lessons

 Individual lessons may be arranged to learn the following instruments:  Please contact Mrs Ross to arrange this.

  • Voice
  • Violin
  • Viola
  • ‘cello
  • Double Bass
  • Harp
  • Guitars
  • Flute
  • Clarinet
  • Oboe
  • Bassoon
  • Saxophone
  • Trumpet
  • Trombone
  • French Horn
  • Piano
  • Organ

Resident String Quartet

 We are very fortunate to have The Albion Quartet as our Quartet in Residence.

Tamsin Waley-Cohen: Violin
Emma Parker : Violin
Rosalind Ventris : Viola
Nathaniel Boyd: Cello

A ‘shared belief in the visceral, communicative power of the string quartet’ has brought together four outstanding performers of their generation to form the Albion Quartet. Following years of close collaboration, these players are delighted to further their reputation for creative and imaginative performances in this exciting new venture.

They perform in the most prestigious of venues, but have a real interest in supporting young players too.  Their work with our pupils and in the local area is inspirational for our young and aspiring musicians.