The Governors are responsible for the well being of the School, endorsing strategic development and ensuring the School’s financial accountability. There are currently 23 members of the Board of Governors who come from a variety of backgrounds including the professions, finance, business, education and property and bring a broad range of knowledge, skills and expertise to the management of the School.

They give their time freely and are deeply committed to the success of the School. The Board of Governors meets at least four times a year with one meeting a year being held at Fishmongers’ Hall, London. The Finance & General Purposes Committee, Estate Committee and Education Committee meet prior to Board of Governors’ Meetings. The Articles of Association stipulate that the Board of Governors shall be composed of one ex-officio Governor, up to 10 nominated Governors and up to 17 co-opted Governors. The current Governors are:

Chair of Governors
Michael Goff, FCA

Ex Officio Governor
Mr Charles Spicer, Prime Warden of The Fishmongers’ Company

Nominated Governors
Representing the Fishmongers’ Company
Simon Gorton, Governor responsible for Health & Safety and Boarding
Paul Marriage, MA (Oxon), Chair of the Finance and General Purposes Committee
James Maunder Taylor, MRICS
Bill Mills

Representing the Lord Bishop of Norwich
The Reverend Canon Jonathan Riviere CVO

Representing the Old Greshamian Club
Charlotte Coventry MRCVS

Co-Opted Governors
Martin Bailey, BA (Hons), Dip Surv MRICS, Chair of the Property Development Committee
Alexander de Capell Brooke, MRICS, DL, Chair of the Estates Committee
Simon Clarke (Governor Elect)
Martin Collier (Governor Elect)
Anna Dugdale, ACA, DL, Chair of Strategy Committee
Sir James Dyson, OM, CBE, FRS, FREng
Nigel Flower,  BA PGCE, Chair of Prep and Pre-Prep Committee
Sir William Goodenough Bt. (elect)
Richard Grisenthwaite
Debra Hayward (elect)
James Morgan, LLB, Deputy Chair of Governors, Chair of the HR & Staff Conditions Committee
Stephen Oldfield, Chair of the Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee
Dr Susan Rubin, FRCPCH, FRCP, Governor with responsibility for Single Centralised Register and Child Protection
Nick Youngs

To contact the Chairman or any member of the Board of Governors please write to: Mrs V Hipperson, Clerk to the Governors, Gresham’s School, Cromer Road, Holt, Norfolk, NR25 6EA or email [email protected]