Congratulations to Tallis who have won the O’Connell Debating Trophy for 2022-23

The Year 10 and 11 Inter-house Debating Competition has reached its conclusion. Both semi-finals explored motions from the English-Speaking Union. Oakeley successfully defended the motion This House would introduce a 100% inheritance tax against a strong challenge from Farfield, whereas Wild Card Tallis were victorious in opposing the motion This House Believes that the UK government should pay reparations to its former colonies against a much-improved Howson’s. 

The motion for the final was: This House would require 50% of MPs in the House of Commons to be women. Tallis proposed the motion (Seb W, Joe H-P and Jack K) and Oakeley opposed (Zinny B, Mojo A and Eva O’D). This was a very close tie between the best two teams in the competition and a rematch of their first round clash. The Proposition argued that only an enforced 50-50 equality in the Commons could deliver meaningful gender equality, whereas the Opposition countered that such a move would patronising and that other measures to make the Commons more diverse and inclusive were more pressing. 

Mr Hipperson adjudicated and awarded the fixture to Tallis on the basis of the relevance of their arguments and they are therefore the winners of the O’Connell Debating Trophy for 2022-23.  

The Year 9 competition begins in the Summer Term.