Well done to Oakeley who have won the 2023-24 O’Connell Trophy for Year 10 and 11 Inter-House Debating

The Year 10 and 11 Inter-House Debating competition reached its climax on Monday evening as Farfield (Connor M, Pablo B-G and James C) proposed and Oakeley (Cerys D, Zinny B and Erin O’D) opposed the motion ‘This House believes that the response of the West to Russian aggression in Ukraine has been weak.’ The motion was tackled with great sensitivity and skill by both teams and played out in front of an audience of nearly 100 in Big School. In a very close match, Oakeley’s opposition prevailed and therefore they hold the O’Connell Trophy for 2023-24.